Smith wins at Beaver Creek

July 16, 2000

Smith wins at Beaver Creek

By LARRY YANOS / Mail Sports Editor

photo: KEVIN G. GILBERT / staff photographer

Kenny SmithKenny Smith eagled the 15th hole Sunday and held on to win the gross division championship of the Beaver Creek Country Club Invitational.


Despite closing with bogeys on holes 16, 17 and 18, Smith finished with a 73 at the Beaver Creek Country Club Golf Course and had a 36-hole total of 144 - defeating Greg Henry by one shot.

Justin Pugh won the net division with a 137. He was followed by Mike Wolfe at 138.

The 25-year-old Smith, who plays most of his golf at the Waynesboro, Pa. Municipal Golf Course and the Majectic Ridge Golf Course in Chambersburg, Pa., had rounds of 70-74 while Beaver Creek Country Club member Henry followed at 70-75.


While Smith happily explained Sunday's eagle, Henry said action earlier in the day was the difference.

"We're even starting the day but he makes par, birdie and I make bogey, double bogey on the first two holes," Henry said. "You can't give up four strokes like that and expect to come back, he's just too good of a player."

Smith made the turn at 2-under but bogeyed the 10th and 11th holes as Henry moved to within one shot of the lead.

The Waynesboro, Pa. resident regained a two-shot edge with a par on No. 12 and a birdie on No. 13 but a bogey on No. 14 saw the advantage again trimmed to one shot.

Then came the deciding 15th.

"I was lucky," Smith said regarding the 490-yard, par-5. "I hit my drive to the left but the ball hit a cart path and rolled to within 160 yards of the cup. I hit a cut 7-iron to about 15 feet from the cup and then sank the putt."

Smith, who shot a 60 at the Waynesboro, Pa. Municipal Golf Course in 1995 to claim that course record, hit into the trees on both the 17th and 18th holes but punched out to the fairways on both occasions and settled for bogeys.

Gross Division

  • Kenny Smith 144
  • Greg Henry 145
  • Ken Winfield 146
  • Tim Steiner 148
  • Bill Calhoun151
  • Randy Barnes152
  • Mike Baker 153
  • Drew Forrester 153
  • Bill Kushay 153
  • Chuck Ingram 153
  • Tim Elliott 153

Net Division

  • Justin Pugh 137
  • Mike Wolfe 138
  • Denny Stoner 139
  • Doug Schlotterbeck 139
  • Ken Lyons 139
  • Ken Hixon 140
  • Andy Gossard 141
  • Vernon Knable 141
  • Ray Crissman 142
  • Max Tissue 142
The Herald-Mail Articles