City gives business, citizen leaders awards

May 10, 2000|By DAN KULIN /Staff Writer

These are people and corporations that make Hagerstown a better place to live, Mayor Robert E. Bruchey II said Tuesday as he introduced the winners of this year's city awards.

The winners included people who give their time and energy to projects or volunteer boards and companies that make donations or expand services for city residents, the mayor said.

This is the third year the mayor and City Council have given out the awards.

The winners of the 2000 citizen or corporate awards are:

-- Non-Profit Award - Alsatia Club, which among other activities organizes the annual Alsatia Mummers' Parade.

-- Citizen Award - Dick Phoebus, president of Home Federal Savings Bank in Hagerstown. List of community activities includes serving as chairman of the Hagerstown-Washington County Chamber of Commerce stadium task force, which is leading the push for a $15 million baseball stadium and railroad museum complex.

-- Volunteer Award - Carol Moller, former owner of Carol & Co. on the first block of West Washington Street, has also been active on volunteer boards including the former Downtown Assessment District and the city board of Traffic and Parking.


-- Small Business Award - Bogard's Hair & Nail Salon at 35 N. Potomac St. Owner Michael Snyder received the award.

-- Corporate Donor Award - Citicorp Credit Services, which has supported through donations city events and projects including the Western Maryland Blues Fest and Fairgrounds Park.

-- Business Renovation Award - Gerald N. Minnich Funeral Home, for exterior and interior renovations to its building at 305 N. Potomac St.

-- Corporate Award - Washington County Hospital/Washington County Health System, which recently opened the Walnut Street Community Health Center. The clinic is intended to primarily serve under-insured or uninsured residents of the downtown area.

-- Residential Renovation Award - Ted and Vicki Bodnar, who have done extensive work outside their home on the 100 block of East Franklin Street.

Each award recipient received a clock and poster.

The Herald-Mail Articles