Commissioners honor essay winners

May 02, 2000

The Washington County Commissioners Tuesday honored students whose entries were winners in an Earth Day poster contest.

The contest theme was "Community Waters" and students were asked to illustrate water's importance to the environment.

The Washington County Soil Conservation District has been sponsoring the contest since 1990. About 250 entries were submitted.

The first-place winner in each category received a $75 savings bond from the conservation district and the second-place winner received a $50 savings bond.

The first-place winners' entries will be entered in a state competition sponsored by the Maryland Association of Soil Conservation Districts.

Winners in each category were:

Kindergarten-first grade:

First place , Elizabeth Wagner, first-grader at Paramount Elementary School.

Second place, Stephen Coccodrilli, first-grader at Paramount Elementary School.

Grades 2-3:


First place, Courtney Thompson, second-grader at Paramount Elementary.

Second place, Nicholas Yaraghi, third-grader at Paramount.

Grades 4-6:

First place: Katie Gonder, fifth-grader at Funkstown Elementary.

Second place: Allie Snyder, fifth-grader at Paramount Elementary.

Grades 7-9:

First place: Jessica Gonder, eighth-grader at E. Russell Hicks Middle School.

Second place: Laurel Hackley, ninth-grader at Boonsboro Middle School.

Grades 10-12:

First place: Evan Wiegand, a junior at Boonsboro High School.

Second place: Lee Ann Graff, a senior at Williamsport High School.

- Scott Butki

The Herald-Mail Articles