New Maryland quarters are here

March 28, 2000

Hagerstown Trust Co. and F&M bank branches are stocked with the new Maryland commemorative quarters, the seventh in a series commemorating all 50 states.

Last Friday, Hagerstown Trust received a "good quantity" of the quarters and is giving them out to customers on request, according to spokesman Dave Barnhart.

Barnhart said he expects a rush of requests once people find out the Maryland quarter is available locally.

"That was the one coin that a lot of our customers have been asking for," he said.

A spokesman at F&M said the bank's branches have "some" of the quarters.

Neither Allfirst nor Home Federal had received the Maryland quarters as of Tuesday.

The Maryland quarter portrays the dome of the Maryland Statehouse on the tails side.

The special quarters are being distributed at the rate of five states a year, in order of admission to the union.


Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut and Massachusetts quarters were released earlier.

South Carolina, New Hampshire and Virginia are scheduled for release during 2000.

The rest of the states will be released as follows:

2001 - New York, North Carolina, Rhode Island, Vermont, Kentucky.

2002 - Tennessee, Ohio, Louisiana, Indiana, Mississippi.

2003 - Illinois, Alabama, Maine, Missouri and Arkansas.

2004 - Michigan, Florida, Texas, Iowa, Wisconsin.

2005 - California, Minnesota, Oregon, Kansas, West Virginia.

2006 - Nevada, Nebraska, Colorado, North Dakota, South Dakota

2007 - Montana, Washington, Idaho, Wyoming, Utah.

2008 - Oklahoma, New Mexico, Arizona, Alaska, Hawaii

The Herald-Mail Articles