Voters choose nominees today

March 06, 2000|By BRENDAN KIRBY

Voters in Washington County will head to the polls today to select nominees for president and Congress.

For the first time, independents will have a chance to vote in the Republican primary. The Democratic primary is open only to Democrats.

cont. from front page

The polls are open from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m.

One polling station has been moved. Voters in District 22, who have voted at the Army Reserve Center on Willard Street, will vote instead at Christ Lutheran Church at 216 N. Cleveland Ave.

Here is what is at stake on Tuesday:

- President

Republicans will choose from among Texas Gov. George W. Bush, Arizona Sen. John McCain and former ambassador Alan Keyes. The statewide winner collects seven at-large delegates to the Republican National Convention; the winner of each congressional district picks up three delegates.


Democrats will decide among Bill Bradley, who is the former New Jersey senator, Vice President Gore, and political extremist Lyndon LaRouche.

- U.S. Representative

U.S. Rep. Roscoe Bartlett and Boonsboro financial consultant Timothy Mayberry square off in the GOP primary for 6th Congressional District representative.

Four Democrats are vying for the nomination: Walter Carson, an attorney for the Seventh-day Adventist Church; Donald DeArmon, a congressional aide; John Ewald, a teacher; and Anthony McGuffin, a Howard County educator.

- Senate

Sen. Paul Sarbanes seeks a fifth term against Democratic challengers George English, a retired government economist, and Sidney Altman, a retired high school history teacher.

On the Republican side, eight are vying for the nomination. They are attorney Robin Ficker; Howard Greyber, who is retired from the Defense Intelligence Agency; consultant Ross Pierpont; attorney Paul Rappaport; energy consultant Rob Sobhani; investment newsletter publisher John Stafford; journalist Kenneth Timmerman and software developer Kenneth Wayman.

Unlike 1996, there is no local School Board race in Washington County.

The Herald-Mail Articles