Candidates file for W.Va. offices

January 18, 2000

WV CandidatesBy JULIE E. GREENE / Staff Writer

photo: JOE CROCETTA / staff photographer

MARTINSBURG, W.Va. - Twenty Eastern Panhandle residents filed to run for a variety of political offices during the first week of filing.

cont. from news page

The filing deadline for the May 9 primary is midnight on Jan. 29. Applications with a postmark by that date will be accepted, according to the Berkeley County Circuit Clerk's office.

Berkeley County resident Clarence Burl "Butch" Pennington announced his candidacy for the open seat on the Berkeley County Commission last Tuesday at the Berkeley County Courthouse, where the commissioners meet.


Pennington, 52, a Democrat of Edwin Miller Boulevard, is making his second run at a commission seat after losing by 216 votes to Commissioner John E. Wright in 1998.

Patricia "Pat" A. Washington, Democrat, of 1006 Brookside Court in Martinsburg, and Steven C. Teufel, Republican, of Martinsburg, also filed to run for Commissioner D. Wayne Dunham's seat.

Dunham announced in October that he will not seek another six-year term because he wants to spend more time with his family.

Also formally announcing his candidacy last week was Gray Silver III, who is running for the new fourth judgeship on the 23rd Judicial Circuit serving the Eastern Panhandle.

Silver, a Democrat from Martinsburg, works at the Spilman Thomas & Battle law firm in Martinsburg.

Silver said he's running for the judgeship because he thinks he has a "keen" appreciation for the area and its residents since he grew up in the Eastern Panhandle.

According to Berkeley County Circuit Court and the West Virginia Secretary of State the following people also filed as of Friday:

Berkeley County Sheriff

* Incumbent Ronald Everly Jones, Republican, of Berkeley County.

* Former Sheriff Preston B. Gooden, Democrat, of 2247 Nestle Quarry Road in Falling Waters, W.Va.

Berkeley County Prosecutor

* Scott A. Ollar, Democrat, of 50 Pintail Lane.

Berkeley County Magistrate

* Incumbent Sandra L. Miller, Democrat, of Martinsburg.

* Incumbent Joan V. Bragg, Democrat, of 507 Park St. in Martinsburg.

* John David Vanorsdale Sr., Democrat, of Martinsburg.

Berkeley County Assessor

* Evelyn Mae Fink, Democrat, of 501 Rock Cliff Drive in Martinsburg.

* Cecil Franklin Chapman, Republican, of 2240 Nollville Road, Martinsburg.

West Virginia Senate - 16th Seat

* Incumbent Herb Snyder, Democrat.

West Virginia House of Delegates - 51st Seat (Morgan County and part of Berkeley County)

* Incumbent Charles S. Trump, Republican, of Morgan County.

West Virginia House of Delegates - 52nd Seat

* Incumbent Vicki V. Douglas, Democrat, of 1003 Chestnut Drive in Martinsburg.

West Virginia House of Delegates - 54th Seat

* Thomas Gregory Martin, Democrat, of Martinsburg.

West Virginia 23rd Judicial Circuit (Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan counties)

* Incumbent Christopher Wilkes, Republican.

* David Camilletti, Democrat.

* Patrick Henry, Democrat.

The Herald-Mail Articles