Southern Franklin boards make annual changes

January 05, 2000|By RICHARD F. BELISLE, Waynesboro

WAYNESBORO, Pa. - The post-election ritual of shuffling leadership seats on borough councils and township supervisor boards in southern Franklin County, Pa., took place with its usual lack of fanfare in the first week of the new year.

Some jurisdictions opted for new leaders, some decided to stick with incumbents, and one, in an attempt at fairness, rotates its top job each year.

Richard Starliper will stay on as president of the Waynesboro Borough Council, a post he assumed two years ago from the retiring Kinney Stouffer.

The five-member council saw only one change in last fall's election, when veteran member Darrell Potts declined to seek another term. He was replaced by the voters with Douglas Tengler, who was sworn in this week.


Councilwoman Vicki Huff was sworn in as council vice president.

Starliper said Waynesboro is fortunate to have continuity on its council. "My job is to run the meetings. We rely on a good staff and committees. We're just going to try to have a good year," he said.

Washington Township's supervisors rotate the chairmanship of their five-member board each year, said Township Administrator Mike Christopher. This year it's Paul Benchoff's turn. He replaces Quinter Baumgardner as chairman. John Beck takes over as vice chairman.

The supervisors Tuesday night also approved the hiring of two new police officers for the Washington Township Police Department. One, a noncertified officer who must undergo training, starts work at $30,585. The second officer has completed training and starts at a salary of $32,054, Christopher said. One replaces an officer who resigned last year and one is filling a new position that brings the department to 12 full-time officers.

In Antrim Township, Robert Whitmore was re-elected chairman of that five-member board, said Township Administrator Ben Thomas. James Byers succeeds Scott Diffenderfer as vice chairman.

Barbara Bock kept her job as president of the Greencastle Borough Council and Harold Duffey was sworn in as vice president, according to Mayor Frank Mowen.

Former Councilwoman Sydnae Vanner was sworn in to succeed Dave Petrillo, who chose not to seek re-election last fall. There were no candidates on the ballot for Petrillo's seat, so Vanner was appointed to fill the slot, Mowen said.

In Mercersburg, Pa., the new Borough Council president will be Tom Heefner. He replaces Bob Brindle, who resigned last fall. Councilman Tom Suddeth had filled in as president during the interim. Suddeth kept his job as vice president in this week's reorganization.

The Mercersburg Borough Council is also in the midst of finding a replacement for James Leventry, its borough manager, who resigned last month to take a new position in Whitehall, Pa.

Heefner said the council has interviewed only one candidate and probably will hire him. Heefner said the candidate's name is being withheld pending a final hiring decision, which could come this week.

The Herald-Mail Articles