Incumbents carry Fulton Co. election

November 03, 1999|By RICHARD F. BELISLE, Waynesboro

McCONNELLSBURG, Pa. - Fulton County's three incumbent county commissioners were returned to office Tuesday in an off-year election that brought out about 40 percent of the county's 7,000 registered voters.

The top vote-getter in the four-way race for the three open commission seats was Commissioners Chairman Gary K. Decker of Harrisonville, Pa., who won a fourth four-year term. Decker finished the race with 1,677 votes, according to the unofficial results.

Coming in second was Commissioner Daniel H. Swain Jr. of Needmore, with 1,514 votes. This will be Swain's second term.

Commissioner Ellis L. Yingling of McConnellsburg won a second term with 1,115 votes.

The challenger in the race was former two-term commissioner Robert L. Garlock of McConnellsburg, who lost to Yingling four years ago. Garlock ended the day with 946 votes.

"I wasn't really worried about the election, although when you are an incumbent you sometimes have to make decisions that don't suit everybody," Yingling said. "I guess the voters had faith in all three of us. They put us back in."


All five candidates for the Central Fulton School District who ran for four-year terms won Tuesday. They included incumbents Jeffrey W. Culler, who got 1,058 votes; Linda H. Garber, 956 votes; James L. Babinsack, 808 votes; Francine L. Gibson, 571 votes; and board newcomer Jim Keebaugh, 709 votes. Incumbent Paul M. Johnston won a two-year term on the board with 1,128 votes.

In the Southern Fulton School District race, seven candidates vied for the five open seats.

Winners were incumbents Dwight D. Bard, 788 votes; Troy Layton, 680 votes; and L. Allen Morton, 624 votes. Two former board members also won seats Tuesday, including William E. Whiteside with 793 votes and C. Richard Moseman Jr., 632 votes.

Three incumbents were among the winners for the five Forbes Road School District seats. They were Karen A. Peffer, 465 votes; Robert Cook, 443 votes; and R. Lynn Knepper, 413 votes. Newcomers to the board are John Warner, who got 368 votes, and Carl Detwiler, 496.

In contested township supervisor races, Leroy Mellott beat Roger L. Fischer 116 to 73 for a six-year term in the Brush Creek Township election.

In Licking Creek Township, A. Donald Swope beat Chris S. Strait 201 to 149 for a six-year term. Kenneth Strait beat Wayne D. Strait 173 to 168 for a two-year term there.

In Taylor Township, C. Terry Appleby beat Earl Downing 139 to 101.

In Wells Township, Kevin Bricker beat Shannon J. Barton 75 to 40 for a six-year term. Chester P. Colledge beat Dan R. Chamberlain 57 to 37 for a two-year term.

The Herald-Mail Articles