Durboraw crashes, Deese passes for title

September 19, 1999|By MIKE SIRBAUGH / Staff Correspondent

The big six-race program at the Hagerstown Speedway Sunday was as spectacular s expected, with a few surprise endings.

The late models geared up for the 4th Annual Richard "Boney" Bonebrake Memorial, a 40-lap event worth double points in the season's final points race.

[cont. from sports page]

Nathan Durboraw led the standings by 83 points over Roy Deese Jr. and needed to finish at least 10th to clinch his record-breaking seventh title. But Durboraw was denied, the victim of two crashes that left him playing catch-up, and finished 15th.

Charlie Schaffer took home the first-place trophy and $2,500 by winning his first Hagerstown feature of the season, and second in two nights after winning at Winchester on Saturday.


Schaffer rode in second from lap 2 through lap 26 behind Andy Anderson until Anderson began running hot and had to pit for water. Anderson never recovered and Schaffer took the checkered flag five car lengths ahead of Deese.

"(Deese) was awfully strong," said Schaffer. "This was the first year with this car and we tried to put the same setup on this as I did my old car, but it didn't work. Now, we finally got it right."

Deese's strong run earned him his first track championship by 15 points over Durboraw. Two-time defending champion Rodney Franklin finished third, 17 points behind Durboraw.

Hagerstown's Brian Miller won his fourth consecutive 4-cylinder championship, despite a disappointing 13th-place finish.

Sean Dawson won his third race of the year, taking the lead from rookie Larry Baker on the fourth lap and holding him off in the 10-lap feature..

The late model sportsman division ran two features, one for double points. Despite - or maybe because of - two different winners, Wayne Walls Jr. successfully defended the title he has held for the last three years.

Richard Clipp won the first 25-lap feature, his third victory of the season, by half a straightaway over Darryl Burkholder. Clipp was trailing Travis Beaver for the first 15 laps, but took the low groove in turn 2 to take the lead. Burkholder fought his way up from 10th to take second and Walls finished third, leaving him 47 points ahead of Burkholder.

In the second feature, Mike Yeakle won his first of the season, driving Pete Weaver's No. 18 to a flag-to-flag victory in the 20-lap race. Yeakle started on the inside pole with Beaver on the outside. Beaver held on to second until spinning out on lap 17 in turn 2.

The pure stocks also did double duty with Dave Rice Jr. and Smokey Pharo staging a two-car battle in each feature.

In the first race, Pharo took the lead from Keith Reed on the 8th lap, going to the top groove in turn 1. Rice took over second two laps later when Reed went into the pits.

Pharo and Rice fought each other for nine laps, running side-by-side until Rice got up into Pharo in turn 4 on lap 19, spinning Pharo out and giving Rice a lead that he held on to for his third win of the year.

In the second race, Craig Carbaugh took the early lead in the 15-lap feature but lost it to Reed on lap 6. On the 14th lap Reed slowed down in turn 2 with mechanical problems and dropped back with Pharo taking over first and Rice in second. This time, Pharo held off Rice.

The Herald-Mail Articles