Hagerstown Speedway Results

August 09, 1999|By MIKE SIRBAUGH / Staff Correspondent

The near-capacity crowd at the Hagerstown Speedway Saturday night celebrated Grove Worldwide Family Night and saw all four features make an impact on the soon-to-end points races.

Former champion and current leader Nathan Durboraw stretched his late models advantage to 58 points over Rodney Franklin by taking his second victory.

[cont. from sports page]

Durboraw started 12th and gradually moved through the field while Alan Sagi and Jeff Robinson held the top spot in the early going.

Durboraw was fifth entering a restart on the 10th lap that wiped out Robinson's 10-length lead and then he seemed to change strategy.


Instead of taking his time and holding to the low groove, Durboraw seemed determined to put the field away immediately. On lap 12, he went to the top and passed Sagi and Richard Irwin in Turn 2.

Two laps later, Durboraw again went high in Turn 4 and scooted past Robinson for the final lead.

"I knew Jeff and those guys had softer tires on," Durboraw said. "The top was pretty good and I had hard tires on. I knew that on the restart, I wasn't going to stay on the bottom."

Durboraw now has an 87-point lead over Franklin with one points race remaining. Franklin's car blew in his heat race and he borrowed a car for the feature but only managed a 17th-place finish.

* Wayne Walls Jr. widened his lead in the late model sportsman division with his sixth victory. Walls charged from his 12th starting position to take over sixth by Lap 7 when Scott Palmer, running in third, spun out in Turn 2.

On the restart, Pete Weaver lost his second spot when he spun out, allowing Walls to move into fourth without completing a lap.

With his son, Mike, in first and his brother, Richard, second, Wayne Walls took over third from Travis Beaver one lap later and began his assault on the rest of his family.

By lap 12, Wayne Walls took over the lead and held on, also widening his lead in the points race over Daryl Kendall, who was sixth before he had to pit on lap 17.

* Dave Rice Jr. picked up his second win in the V-8 pure stocks. Rice started on the outside pole, surged into the lead on the first lap and completed his flag-to-flag victory with a lead of half a straightaway.

Bruce Leibowitz held on to second place after running second for most of the race. Steve Long made up nine spots to finish third and Eugene Conlee came from eighth to finish fourth. Dave Mikolajski picked up the Hard Charger award, coming from 19th to finish fifth.

* Sean Dawson won the 4-cylinder feature, his second of the year, overtaking leader Larry Baker II with two laps left.

Baker, a rookie who won his first feature two weeks ago, was making a strong bid for his second but a caution on Lap 5 gave Dawson a chance to move from fourth to second on the restart.

* Leroy Hockenberry led for nearly the entire 30-lap Enduro Dash until Kevin Durst made an improbable pass coming out of Turn 4 on the final lap.

Hockenberry had a lead of about 10 car lengths entering the final lap when lapped traffic in Turn 1 held up Hockenberry and allowed Durst to make up half the ground.

In Turn 3, Durst held the throttle down and found room underneath to take Hockenberry on the inside and nose him out for the victory.

The Herald-Mail Articles