Sheriff, chief deputy coroner win nominations

May 18, 1999|By DON AINES

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. - Franklin County Sheriff Robert B. Wollyung easily defeated a Republican challenger in Tuesday's primary and will be unopposed for a third term in November, according to incomplete results from the Franklin County Election Board.

Wollyung, 59, of Chambersburg, took 77 percent of the vote compared to 23 percent for challenger Terry L. Monn, 34, of Chambersburg. With 63 of 75 precincts reporting, the tally was 4,663 to 1,422. The Democratic Party fielded no candidate for sheriff in the primary.

To win the Democratic nomination by write-in, a candidate would have had to receive at least 100 votes in the primary. Those results will be available next week.

Wollyung was elected in 1987 after a 29-year career with the Pennsylvania State Police. Monn is a physical therapy student with no background in law enforcement.


Neither candidate spent much on the race, according to campaign finance records. Wollyung spent about $700, while Monn's affidavit stated he spent less than $250.

Franklin County Chief Deputy Coroner Jeffrey R. Conner easily won the Republican nomination to replace retiring Coroner Kenneth L. Peiffer after defeating Dr. Michael D. Cerveris in the primary.

According to unofficial results, Conner collected almost 79 percent of the vote to 21 percent for Cerveris, a Chambersburg dentist and member of the Pennsylvania Dental Association Identification Team.

Conner, 44, has been the chief deputy coroner for almost 12 years. Cerveris's experience includes Armed Forces Institute of Pathology training in forensics and helping to identify the 132 victims of a USAir crash five years ago near Pittsburgh.

Cerveris, 50, of Chambersburg, ran against Peiffer 12 years ago as a Democrat but recently switched to the Republican Party.

Conner heavily outspent Cerveris in the primary. As of May 7, Conner's campaign had spent more than $10,000. Cerveris spent less than $250, according to an affidavit he filed at the courthouse.

"I knew I had to put my investment in this race," Conner said.

Ronald R. Coover, 56, of 9995 Tower Road, Shippensburg, was unopposed in the Democratic primary and will face Conner in November.

Countywide races in Franklin County generally favor Republican candidates, who have an advantage of almost 2-to-1 in the number of registered voters.

In a special election, Allen V. Twigg of Chambersburg was elected the new Republican jury commissioner. He received 41 percent of the vote to defeat three other candidates.

Twigg, the Franklin County Republican Committee chairman, will fill the unexpired term of Robert Little, who died last fall. The Jury Commission is made up of a Republican, a Democrat and the county's president judge.

District Attorney John F. Nelson, Register and Recorder Linda Miller, Prothonotary Linda Beard, Clerk of Courts William Vandrew and Controller Carol Fix Diller, all Republicans, all ran unopposed in the primary, and no Democrats ran in that party's primary for those offices.

related stories:

-- Rock held late lead for Guilford supervisor

-- Incumbents beat challenger for two seats

The Herald-Mail Articles