Franklin Co. candidates file

March 10, 1999|By DON AINES

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. - There will be at least three, and possibly four, Republican candidates for Franklin County Commissioner in the May 18 primary election.

The deadline to file at the courthouse was Tuesday afternoon.

Incumbents G. Warren Elliott and Bob Thomas filed to run for re-election and Guilford Township Tax Collector Chris Bender also is running. Yet to be decided is whether the petition of Linda E. Allen will be accepted.

Allen arrived at the courthouse prior to the deadline but forgot to bring the $100 filing fee for countywide office. She was allowed to return with the money after the deadline, but County Chief Clerk John Hart said her situation will have to be reviewed "to determine whether or not it meets the requirement of the law in being properly filed."

"I'm not happy with calling into the commissioners' office and them not doing anything," Allen, of Chambersburg, said of why she wants to run. She would not provide details on issues she had contacted the county about.


"I'm dissatisfied with government in general," said Allen, who is co-owner of Allen's Sports Alley in Chambersburg.

Voters will select two GOP candidates to run in the November general election.

On the Democratic side, the two candidates who have filed for commissioner are incumbent Cheryl Plummer and Bruce W. Hockersmith, of Shippensburg, Pa., who works for State Rep. Jeff Coy at his Shippensburg office.

Sheriff Robert W. Wollyung is running for a third term but will face primary competition from Terry L. Monn of Chambersburg.

Franklin County Coroner Kenneth L. Peiffer is retiring at the end of the year and three candidates have filed to succeed him.

On the Republican side, Chief Deputy Coroner Jeffrey R. Conner and Dr. Michael D. Cerveris have filed to run for the nomination. Cerveris, a dentist, ran against Peiffer 12 years ago as a Democrat.

Ronald R. Coover, of Shippensburg, is unopposed for the Democratic nomination.

A special election is set for May 18 to select a Republican jury commissioner to replace Robert Little, who died last year. Franklin County Republican Committee Chairman Allen V. Twigg was appointed to fill the office on an interim basis and is a candidate.

The other candidates are retired banker Robert L. Zeis, retired Franklin County Prison Warden Robert C. Holland and retired Prothonotary John F. George, all of Chambersburg.

Prothonotary Linda L. Beard, of Chambersburg, is running for a second term without opposition within the GOP or from Democrats.

Republican Linda Miller, of Chambersburg, the Register and Recorder, is also running unopposed, as are District Attorney John F. Nelson and Controller Carol Fix Diller, both of Chambersburg, and Clerk of Courts William E. Vandrew, of Marion, Pa.

The Herald-Mail Articles