Outgoing commissioners honored

November 25, 1998

By SCOTT BUTKI / Staff Writer

photo: RICHARD T. MEAGHER / staff photographer

After the Washington County Commissioners completed their Tuesday meeting, county employees held a reception for the four outgoing commissioners.

John S. Shank and Ronald L. Bowers were swept out of office in the Nov. 3 general election while two other commissioners, James R. Wade and R. Lee Downey, did not seek re-election.

The only returning commissioner is Gregory I. Snook, who this year was commissioners president. He will be joined by Bert L. Iseminger Jr., William J. Wivell, Paul L. Swartz and John L. Schnebly.

The new County Commissioners will be sworn in on Dec. 1 at 10 a.m. in the Washington County Courthouse and will hold their first meeting at 1 p.m.


While the four new commissioners attended a joint meeting with the Hagerstown City Council, the four departing commissioners were given gifts from county employees.

Each commissioner received a clock with the county logo. The gifts were not paid for with county government funds.

Employees thanked the commissioners for their service and the commissioners thanked them in return.

Shank said it was a good way to end their time in office.

"It gave us an opportunity to thank them for their work and their help," Shank said.

As they did last week, the new commissioners sat together in the front row during the meeting.

In the afternoon, the commissioners attended a two-hour orientation session in which they heard five-minute presentations from some of the department heads explaining their role in the government.

The Herald-Mail Articles