Wright honored as top United Way volunteer

March 11, 1998|By MARLO BARNHART

by Kevin G. Gilbert / staff photographer

see the enlargement

United Way awardWright honored as top United Way volunteer

Douglas S. Wright Jr. received the Jesse L. Kagle Jr. Volunteer of the Year award Tuesday from the United Way of Washington County at the organization's annual meeting.

"I really appreciate this," Wright said. "Jesse was a great fellow."

Kagle, who died in 1987, was United Way executive director for 24 years. His widow, Audrey Kagle, was on hand Tuesday for the presentation.

A businessman and member of the United Way board of directors, Wright also is vice president of United Way administration.

United Way President Alfred E. Martin described Wright's philosophy of volunteerism simply. "Doug said that if we don't have volunteers involved in United Way, we might as well turn the whole thing over to government," Martin said.


A native of Hagerstown, Wright graduated from North Hagerstown High School in 1964 and earned his civil engineering degree from the Virginia Polytechnic Institute.

After serving in the U.S. Army, Wright returned to Hagerstown to work with his father in the outdoor advertising business. He is president of Advertising Inc.

During the annual meeting, officials presented the final tally of contributions to the 1997 United Way campaign.

A total of $1,611,322 was raised, an increase of $11,322 over the previous year's campaign.

The 25 member agencies were allocated $1,191,092 of that amount, a 4.7 percent increase over the previous campaign.

Designations to other United Way campaigns were up for 1998. Contributors requested that $140,115 be designated outside of Washington County - up from $103,991 the year before.

United Way Board of Directors officers are Martin, president; Melinda T. Marsden, vice president - agency relations; Wright, vice president - administration; Robert B. Rankin, vice president - resource and volunteer development; Philip A. Kelly, secretary; H. Terrence Trovinger, treasurer; Michael G. Callas, immediate past president; Richard J. Gagliardi, immediate past campaign chairman; and William Bulla, community relations chairman.

Robert Barnhart is the 1998 campaign chairman.

The Herald-Mail Articles