City approves appointments

October 31, 1997

Hagerstown City Council members on Tuesday approved several appointments, including members of two task forces that will study whether the city needs a convention center and a new minor league baseball stadium.

The Convention Center task force includes:

* Chairwoman Kathleen Hynes.

* State Del. John P. Donoghue, D-Washington.

* John Howard, Hagerstown-Washington County Economic Development Commission executive director.

* Gregory I. Snook, Washington County Commissioners president.

* Robert Arch, Washington County Planning Commission.

* Ben Hart, Hagerstown-Washington County Convention and Visitors Bureau executive director.

* Mayor Robert E. Bruchey II.

* Councilman Lewis C. Metzner, a local attorney.


* City Administrator Bruce Zimmerman.

* Deborah Everhart, city economic development coordinator.

* Bruce E. Johnston, city engineer.

* Karen Giffin, downtown coordinator.

* Steven T. Sager, former Hagerstown mayor and representative of Maryland's Neighborhood Revitalization Office.

* Robert Ernst, Farmers & Merchants Bank and Trust commercial loan manager.

* Suzanne Hayes, Wheat First Butcher Singer.

* John Snyder, Hagerstown Bookbinding & Printing Inc. president.

* Gary L. Wright, Hagerstown-Washington County Chamber of Commerce's immediate past president.

* Mike Pishvaian, owner of Twilight's Ristorante and representative of the Hagerstown-Washington County Chamber of Commerce's Downtown Task Force.

The Stadium Task Force includes:

* Merle Elliott.

* Sandra Gagliardi.

* Tim Henry.

* Dennis Miller.

* Glenn Presgraves.

* Dale Swope.

* Floyd Wright.

* Brandon Younger.

Other appointments and reappointments unanimously approved by the council include:

* Linda Baughman, John Ziegler, William E. Moler and John W. Sagle to two-year terms on the Board of Parks. Councilman Lewis C. Metzner will serve as an ex-officio member.

* John F. Barr to a five-year term as alternate for the Board of Technical Appeals.

* Michael V. McCollum and Harold E. Levy to two-year terms on the Board of Traffic & Parking. Councilman William M. Breichner will serve as an ex-officio member.

* Anthony J. Dattilio and David C. Hanlin to three-year terms on the Board of Zoning Appeals.

* Councilman Alfred W. Boyer will serve as ex-officio member of the Hagerstown Redevelopment Authority.

* Mayor Robert E. Bruchey II will be the city's representative to Children's Village and the Council on Aging.

* Councilman J. Wallace McClure will be the city's representative to the Washington County Arts Council.

The Herald-Mail Articles