Tourism board re-elects three as officers

July 31, 1997


Staff Writer

New Washington County tourism board members gave three of the bureau's former board members a vote of confidence on Thursday by re-electing them as officers.

The former board had come under fire in recent months from some Washington County Commissioners and members of the Hagerstown-Washington County Convention and Visitors Bureau, who said they thought the short-term board had overstepped its bounds by closing information centers and laying off employees.

Former board members Ron Stansbury; Jim Kell, general manager of the Ramada Inn, and Dick Trump, owner of Master Marketing Group Inc., were re-elected as part of a 12-member slate organized by the former board. Stansbury was elected board president, Kell was named vice president and Trump was selected as secretary.


The temporary board had said its intent was to shift the focus of the bureau's budget from salaries to marketing. Stansbury said he expects the board to have a budget of $400,000 this fiscal year, with $227,000 to be spent on administrative costs and $173,000 on marketing. Any additional revenue will be spent on marketing, he said. The bureau usually has an annual budget of $500,000.

About 40 of the bureau's roughly 130 members voted in Thursday morning's election at the Ramada Inn.

They elected three new board members to join the 12-member slate.

The three elected are Ron Vitkun, owner and operator of the Yogi Bear Camp Ground in Williamsport; Bill McMahon, owner and operator of McMahon's Mill Recreation Area in Williamsport; and Barbara Bland, executive director of the Washington County Arts Council.

Bland was elected to a new position on the executive board - marketing director.

The other new members of the tourism board are:

* Stu Mullendore, vice president and director of administrative services at Farmers & Merchants Bank and Trust. Mullendore was elected treasurer.

* William R. Divelbiss, manager of Rose Hill Cemetery.

* Terry Hepburn, owner and operator of Hepburn Orchards Fruit Market in Hancock.

* Kerry Keegan, branch manager of Hobart Corp., a Williamsport manufacturer of food equipment.

* Jim Crumrine, general manager of the Venice Inn.

* Mike Winberg, owner of Super 8 Motel.

* Clarence Horst with O'Conor, Piper & Flynn, Realtors.

* John Howard, superintendent of Antietam National Battlefield.

* Mike Pishvaian, owner of Twilight's Ristorante and Gourmet Deli and CW Travel.

The five officers will serve two-year terms. The remaining 10 board members will serve either one-year or three-year terms. Term lengths will be decided at the board's first meeting on Aug. 14.

The board will meet the second and fourth Thursday of every month at different tourism sites.

New tourism director Ben R. Hart will start on Aug. 18.

The Herald-Mail Articles