Beginning drivers younger than 18 years old must complete an approved driver education course. Fifteen-year-olds may take driver education, and may obtain a Learner's Instructional Permit at the age of 15 years and 9 months, with proper identification, permission from a parent or guardian and by passing the Maryland law and vision tests.
After successfully completing the road test, all new drivers younger than 18 years of age will receive a Provisional Driver's License which requires that the teen maintain a good driving record for a 12-month period or until the age of 18, after which he or she can apply for a new photo driver's license. The provisional license permits the teenager to operate a vehicle unaccompanied, between the hours of 5 a.m. and midnight.
Although a driver education course is not required, it is encouraged, according to Anne Patterson, Community Relations Coordinator for Pennsylvania's Department of Transportation.