Monday is deadline for city voters to register

February 05, 1997


Staff Writer

Hagerstown residents have until Monday night to register to vote in the city's March 11 primary election.

The office of the Supervisors of Elections for Washington County will be open Monday from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m., to give people a chance to register.

Regular office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. The election board's office is located at 33 W. Washington St., Room 200.

The primary election will determine who the Democratic and Republican candidates for mayor will be in the May 20 general election. There are two Democratic candidates and four Republican candidates for the position, which will pay $28,000 a year.


There will not be a primary for the City Council race. Five Democrats and four Republicans have filed to run for the five seats. Each new City Council member will be paid $8,000 a year.

As of the end of December, there were 16,377 registered voters in the city, according to the board of elections. Of those registered to vote, 8,252 were Democrats and 6,235 were Republicans.

According to the election board, 1,683 registered voters are not affiliated with a political party and the remaining 207 voters belong to other political parties such as the Reform Party.

Voter registration applications are available at all state agencies, schools, post offices, libraries and town halls, according to the election board. Residents can call the election board at 791-3030 to have an application mailed.

Residents who miss the Feb. 10 deadline may register to vote in the general election from March 24 to April 21.

The mayoral candidates are incumbent Democrat Steven T. Sager, Democrat Don Allensworth and Republicans Robert E. Bruchey II, Dennis L. Duffey, Leon C. Fearnow and Joseph H. Walker.

Democratic council candidates are incumbent William M. Breichner, incumbent Lewis C. Metzner, Larry A. Vaughn, Eugene E. "Buddie" Morris and Larry W. Craig.

Republicans candidates are incumbent Susan Saum-Wicklein, Alfred W. Boyer, Paul H. Toothman and Republican J. Wallace "Wally" McClure.

The Herald-Mail Articles