Cadets march to Hub Cup title

January 19, 1997


Staff Correspondent

In a tournament that included 11 state-ranked and 25 Tri-State area-ranked wrestlers, the Frederick Cadets stepped higher and faster to win the Hub Cup at North Hagerstown for the fourth time in 10 years.

"Experienced wrestlers are the key" said Cadets coach Andre Jackson. "We do a lot of situation drills. I'll tell them `you're down 10-8 with 10 seconds left. What do you do?'"

The strategy produced six finalists for Frederick, three of them individual champions. In a match emphasizing technique over power, Dustin Bane (130), third in the state last year, got a major decision over Joey Garvin of Damascus. Kevin Ferraro (140), last year's Hub Cup champion, got a 14-7 major decision over undefeated Kyle Unger of Berkeley Springs. Bo Harper (160), also a returning Hub Cup champion, beat Dan Jansen of Linganore, 8-5. Cadet runners-up were Ivan Zdanov (119), Christian Davis (125), who lost to state No. 1 Brandon York of Damascus, and Billy Wynne (135).


Berkeley Springs finished third, with two individual champions. Undefeated Justin Hovermale (145) beat undefeated Zane Harshman of Middletown, with four takedowns and a pinning combination. Harshman was strong enough to stay off his back, but could not overcome the Hovermale's superior technique. Hovermale was named Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament. Undefeated heavyweight Josh Waugh pinned undefeated Vince Thomas of Bowie in 27 seconds. Kyle Unger (140)and Blair Miller (152) were each runners-up. Berkeley Springs also received the Team Sportsmanship award.

Williamsport, wrestling without injured Jimi Massey, failed to advance any wrestlers into the finals and placed fifth. For the first time in the 10-year history of the Hub Cup, there were no finalists from Washington County. The only finalist from an MVAL team was Harshman.

Linganore had an individual champion in undefeated Ryan Green (152), who decisioned Blair Miller of Berkeley Springs, 8-2.

Ryan Hoffman (189) of Thomas Johnson, last year's Hub Cup Outstanding Wrestler, pinned Doug Craig of Paint Branch for another title.

In a field this competitive, finishing third can be as tough as achieving a championship. Cadets Scott Linton (103), Shane Hildebrand (145), Keith Patterson (154), Steve Flook (173) and Andy Mullin (HWT) all did it, with Hildebrand limping to victory on an injured knee, and Patterson wrestling back from an injury default. North's Richie Dean (112) pinned Jeremy Horton of Damascus in a rematch. Williamsport's Joe Burger (130) dug deep to beat Jeremy Wiles of South High, also a rematch. Jason Waugh (160) of Berkeley Springs and George O'Brien of Linganore completed the field.

Dean posted the fastest pin in 10 seconds, tying a Hub Cup record. He also recorded the most pins in the least time - four in 4:25 - breaking a record that had stood for six years.

Paint Branch's Luke Rackley won the 103-pound class, beating Nick O'Gwinn of Damascus, 11-2.

The Herald-Mail Articles